Oh That Writer’s Block!

Image from Ladies Who Critique

Image from Ladies Who Critique

 

“I put the folder on top of the desk, intending to leave it there when I noticed my boss’s hand dangling from the chair……”

And then what? I stared at my computer screen and watched as the cursor blinked, one hand hovering above the keyboard, the other picking my nose. Poised to type the next phrase.

But nothing.

Not a short phrase.

Not even a single effin’ word.

(Insert a series of expletives here.)

Writer’s block. How do I even begin to explain this disease that had been plaguing writers since the day they learned how to write? But seeing how I couldn’t even finish a single sentence in my comedy-slash-suspense-slash-chick lit novel, it was probably best to just leave it at that.

And from the looks of it, I need to do the same thing to my novel too. For now, at least. Though it baffles me that I still managed to write this post despite the onslaught of the dreaded condition. Well, fuck it. It gave me an excuse to blog, didn’t it?

So tell me, how do you even get out from this black hole without falling prey to procrastination and laziness?

I mean, writer’s block is just the worst. Well, next to revision. I don’t know about you but whenever the revision process rears its ugly head, I always develop the urge to write the whole thing all over again. Never mind that I’ve already written a good 10,000 words. It seems like I just can’t get it right. Like there’s a huge “CRAP” written all over it.

But guess what? While I was in the middle of procrastinating and writing this blog post (What can I say? Old habits die hard), I stumbled upon this Wikipedia’s description of writer’s block. And I quote:

“It can manifest as the affected writer viewing their work as inferior or unsuitable, when in fact it could be the opposite.”

Well I’ll be damned.

Okay that may or may not lifted my spirit up a bit. But it sure did give me an epiphany (See? Procrastination can be a blessing to others too). Apparently whenever I see my work as a piece of shit, it’s actually just the writer’s block doing it’s magic.

Let me try that again.

Hmmm….

Mmmmm…

….Nah, it’s really a piece of shit

One thought on “Oh That Writer’s Block!

  1. Pingback: Nominated for the Liebster Blog Award! Yikes! | Plotting Bunnies

Leave a Reply

