Inspiration Schminspiration

Image from bobby-nash-news.blogspot.com

Image from bobby-nash-news.blogspot.com

 

You know those times when you can write smoothly without the need for any inspiration? Yeah, me neither.

The truth is I can’t write without getting inspired. Not even a single word. Color me lame, but I still need the nod of approval of the muse of inspiration to get me cracking.

I still need to hear her say, “Go for it, girl. You can do it!

Yep. I also talk to my muse. We’re besties that way.

But aside from my favorite muse, I also get inspiration from other authors. Learn a thing or two from their writing style and take notes on how they approach character development. Nothing like learning from the experts to get motivated.

Lucky for me though, inspiration comes easy. Regardless of where I was at the time.

In my bed…
At the coffee shop…
In the shower…
In the grocery store…

Just random places. And most of the time, there’s no pen and paper in sight. I’ll say, sometimes, inspiration is a bitch.

Just want to let you know, Chapter 4 is live!

Lacey’s Murder Case (A Lacey Thompson Humor Mystery) Chapter 4:

We quietly looked on as George’s body was being wheeled outside the glass doors, the last of the Crime Scene Unit leaving the Amari offices.
My boss was really dead. No use denying it.

I stood there as everybody started chattering about the incident. When a loud wailing sound rose above the noise, we all scrambled to check the source…Read more here!

Other parts:

For the Prologue, click here!
For Chapter 1, click here!
For Chapter 2, click here!
For Chapter 3, click here!

 

6 thoughts on “Inspiration Schminspiration

  1. Hey Madeline, great stuff! I hope you stop being lazy and start writing your first great novel soon… though I’m actually a big fan of laziness myself.

  2. Pingback: daisy

Leave a Reply

