Oh That Writer’s Phase!

 

I don’t know about you but I’ve been in a funk lately. And it’s not just the usual I-can’t-think-of-anything-to-write phase. It’s more like the you-suck-and-everything-you-write-sucks-hahaha-you-loser kind of funk.

To be honest, the only thing that’s keeping me from embracing that funk is the fact that if I don’t write I won’t earn any money. If that happens, well, let’s just say that my piling bills and life in general will be unkind.

I’ll probably end up as a beggar just after a week-long sabbatical.

Hmmm. I wonder what does that say about my bank account.

Question: Does having a below minimum bank account balance make me a terrible adult? When did the state of a person’s bank account start becoming the basis of responsible adulthood? Why am I even asking questions that have nothing to do with the topic?

Seriously though, I wonder if writers are the only professionals (ahem professionals!) in the world who hate their work after getting it done.

Do plastic surgeons stare at their patients after a couple of days of doing the surgery and say, “Your nose sucks. Let’s do it again.

How about carpenters? Do they approach the owners of a newly-built house and say, “We hate the way we aligned the nails. We’re going to have to demolish your house and build it again.

Hmmm. Maybe I should just get back to writing and stop asking stupid questions?

Or, better yet, I’ll just ask Dollar for some writing tips. She’s being poetic these days. Is that normal with dogs?

Whatever. Being in a funk sucks.

 

**************************************

“It’s one of those bizarre phenomena – the way writers see-saw between a love/hate relationship with their own writing.” — Rob Parnell

Leave a Reply

