Dialogues and Conversations

Image from s1.hubimg.com

 

As a non-native English writer, writing dialogues that sound real and natural can be a struggle sometimes. Although, to be honest, I feel like I write better in English than my native language.

I wonder what it says about my patriotism. Hmmm…

Anyway, still, writing realistic but properly structured character conversations proved to be a tedious task. And it’s not helping that there are so many guidelines:

Write the way people talk, except don’t; make it better. Avoid using Adverbs. Stay away from fancy words (In short, keep your synonyms to a minimum). Make it plain who’s talking but don’t use “he said” or “she said” every time….. blah, blah, blah.

Jesus. Who came up with these guidelines?

You guys, I think I chose the wrong profession. Is it too late to get back to my original dream? To become a world-famous actress? Kidding. I suck at acting. It’s like watching Kristen Stewart deliver her lines. Only worse.

So, maybe I should start reading my characters’ dialogues out loud to see if they sound right?

I don’t know.

Perhaps I should have a private talk with my inner voice. She seems to be really good at constructing dialogues and interior monologues, especially these days.

Do these methods make me sound like a schizo?

Wait, don’t answer that.

 

***************************************

“Dialogue should simply be a sound among other sounds, just something that comes out of the mouths of people whose eyes tell the story in visual terms.”  Alfred Hitchcock

Leave a Reply

